Skip to content

Papua New Guinea, My Return, Part Three

November 9, 2011

Another week has gone by and there is always something going on here in Papua New Guinea (PNG). Last week I was asked to preach at one of the local bush churches, in the village of Warakar, by the assistant pastor of the church. This is a church I attended when I was here in the spring so I was familiar with it. Now I am not a pastor and have never preached before and I told them I am a maintenance missionary not a pastor. They said that’s OK we would like to hear what you would say to our little church. So I accepted and as I had a sermon I had prepared once before when I was asked to speak at a church, but due to circumstances I was never able to delivered the talk.

The Mathews Memorial Church of the Nazarene

 We left of the church Sunday morning in one of the missionary cars and it was only about a fifteen minute drive to where we parked. Then it was a walk up some garden trails for about a quarter of a mile through the banana trees and the vegetable gardens to the church. The church was a small building, build of trees from the forest with a woven bamboo mats for walls and a Kunia grass roof. The floor was dirt but it had a layer of pine needles spread on it to make it comfortable and dry for setting.

 As is the custom here I was given some bags of fruit and vegetables as a gift for coming to the church to speak. The gift included bananas, pineapple, passion fruit (sugar fruit), Pawpaw (papaya) and many others. There were five other people from Kudjip station that joined us and as far as I can tell everyone was happy with my little talk. It just goes to show that in 2 Corinthians 12:9 when it says “My grace is sufficient for you” it is always true.

Up the Garden Path

Many of the doctors, missionaries and pastors are gone to Manila for a conference on discipleship. There was a delegation of over 50 people who went from PNG. In the meantime we are here doing what the maintenance department does, fixing, repairing and building the things necessary to keep the hospital and station going. This has been a truly blessed experience for me and I thank God every day for the opportunity to serve his calling.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 12, 2011 10:58 am

    Preacher Lee… Has a good ring to it!

Leave a Reply

