Skip to content

Papua New Guinea, My Return

October 29, 2011

When I left the Philippines the rest of the team went back to Chicago thru Hong Kong but I went from there to Papua New Guinea. This is a return trip to try to finish the assignment I started in February. I was scheduled to spend four months helping in the maintenance department at Kudjip Nazarene Hospital when I formed a blood clot in my leg from an injury I received using a cement saw.
After several months of treatment in Michigan the doctor gave clearance to return, so here I am. What a great homecoming to reunite with all of the people I worked with in the winter (summer here). Lot’s of missionaries and doctors come and go, so many of them I knew and there were a few new ones for me to meet.

My first adventure here was a visit to a tea plantation. I was invited to lunch by a very nice couple, Pradeep and Elisabeth, who are living here and manage the plantation. They are from India. The plantation is was over one thousand acres and employs over 400 people. They have a processing plant that dryes and process the tea leaves, sorts it into grades and bags it for final packaging. The bags look like they must weigh about 100 pounds (48 K.) they are shipped to the USA, china and some to a packaging plant in Mt. Hagen here in PNG. There it is processed for retail sale. The tea fields are beautiful, like rows and rows of hedges. We had a great time and a great meal with some good conversation.

A Machine for Trimming Tea Plants

I am staying in a doctors flat with a combined kitchen and living area, a bath and two bedrooms. I am working in the maintenance department with the same people  worked with in February. Our job is to fix and repair anything that is needed in the hospital or housing on the station. We have fixed cloths driers, vacuum machines, bathrooms and many other things. They also build furniture and cabinets for storage or even build buildings when necessary. It is fun not knowing what each day will bring. So keep me in your prayers and wish me luck in completing my tasks.

I always enjoy hearing comments from the readers so please feel free to comment on my blogs anytime. Sorry there are no pictures but the internet service here does not support uploading pictures.

Thank you for reading my story.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 3:33 pm

    Glad to hear you made it to PNG safely. Things are going well here. Last week we had 207 in worship, and we are working on gathering lots of new people to learn about Jesus and His grace.

    Julie is doing well with her studies toward becoming a Physical Therapist. Cameron has a full-time grapic art job in Hillsdale. Anna is getting ready to go to Germany wit a group from Spring Arbor Univ., and Alex is settling in at Olivet Naz. Zoie has fleas, so she’s not real happy, but he rest of us are doing GREAT!

    Did you get to drive the tea trimmer? Looks like it will only do about 2 mph! No wheelies…

    Keep pumping out these updates!

    • November 12, 2011 3:22 pm

      They said it will require aver twenty more teams to finish the project. So I would suspect several years. Want to send a team?

Leave a Reply

