Skip to content

Home Again For Now

May 4, 2011

Well I have arrived home from Australia and Papua New Guinea. After finding out I had some swelling in my leg and foot I was sent from PNG to Australia for testing. Once there they confirmed I had a blood clot in my right leg. I was started on blood thinners in PNG and the dose was increased in Australia. I was told I could not return to PNG because they could not do the testing necessary to control the level of blood thinner in my system. So after ten days on blood thinners I was given the approval to fly home for further treatment.

I am now home in the US and seeing my regular doctor. I have been told it will take 4-6 months for the clot to dissolve so I am grounded so to speak.

Just a little follow-up from PNG, All of the tasks were completed that we started with Samaritan’s Purse. The new generator is in place and working well. The new x-ray machine is complete and working (I had the privilege to be the first one x-rayed) and the new autoclave in up and running as well.

One of the things I found in PNG was that not many people have cars so there are many small churches within walking distance of a lot of the villages. I was invited to attend a service at one of these the last sunday I was there by Pastor Dan, one of the maintenance men, he is an assistant pastor at the church. After a 20 minute ride from Kadjip Hospital station on a paved road, then onto a small two-track road until it turned into a foot path we parked the van and walked trough farms and gardens to the Mathews Memorial Church of the Nazarene.

End of the road

Walking through the gardens to Church

Almost There

When we finally reached the church in a clearing between fields we found a beautiful little building made of a stick frame, mats for walls, a thatched roof and  pine needles for a floor.

Mathews Memorial Church of the Nazarene

Pastor Dan and Family

One of the Samaritan’s Purse missionaries was invited to preach. We had a lot of singing, great preaching. It is such a pleasure to see the dedication to our Lord and the joy which the people of PNG have. The missionary was given fruit and vegetables donated by the congregation for his service.

The Church Service

This is what makes these trips worth while. It fills your heart to meet people and make new friends as the people of PNG welcomed us to join them and treat us as if we were part of the family. What a blessing I have received.

I know I will miss all of the people of PNG as well as the missionaries I have met here. With any luck and God’s will I will return here to finish the job I started.

The good news is I was invited to and have signed up for a Work & Witness trip to the Philippians in September and another one to Zambia in January of next year. I will keep you posted on my progress.

Thank you all for your prayers and may God bless you all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

