Skip to content

Papua New Guinea (PNG) #4

April 8, 2011

It appears my mission work in Papua New Guinea is done for the near future. Five weeks ago I received an injury to my knee while working with a cement saw. It required several stitches but the good news is I was working just across the street from the emergency room of the Kadjip Nazarene Hospital. Doctor Jim Radcliffe and one of the local doctors put me back together and I was up and around in a couple of days.

Last week I developed a problem with swelling in my ankle. Because of this doctors advised me I should go to Australia for medical tests that cannot be done in PNG. I was started on blood thinners as they suspected a blood clot and put on an airplane for Brisbane.

Tests confirmed that I have a rather large DVT or blood clot in the femoral vein in my right leg. The clot goes from the middle of my calf to above my knee.

After an overnight stay in a hospital in Brisbane where I was given larger doses of blood thinners and told after I had been on the blood thinners for 10 days I would be able to fly again. I was also given elastic socks to wear to stabilize the leg while walking around. So I am back staying at the Nazarene Theological College in Brisbane for the next few days.

Because they are unable to do the blood tests required to monitor my blood and regulate the blood thinner I will not be able to return to PNG. This makes me very sad as I was just getting to know the people and was enjoying my work and the people of PNG.

As a result I will be heading home next week. I have flight home on April 13, 2011 where I will see my own doctor for further treatment. I have been told that the clot will dissolve over time. It usually takes 4-6 months on blood thinners but then I should be back to normal.

In Jeremiah 29:11, it says “For I know the plans I have for you” declares the Lord”. Some times it’s hard to understand God’s plan for my life, but I have faith that there is a reason for all of this and I will just have to wait to find the answer.

Until then I will go where I am led and continue to pray for guidance from the Lord. Once I know what I am doing I will post it on this site.

Blessings to all of my readers who follow this Blog.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

