Skip to content

Papua New Guniea (PNG) via Australia #4

February 4, 2011

Well I received my work permit to go to PNG on January 21, 2011. The next step is to get an entrance permit or Travel Visa. I went to Brisbane on the 25 th. with all of the documents to apply for my travel visa. They said it would take up to 15 days to get them processed and issue the visa. I received the visa on Feb. 4 so I am ready to go. I will be leaving Australia on the 9th. for Mt. Hagen, PNG. This takes two planes, the first to the capital city of Port Moresby and from there a smaller plane to the Highlands and Mt. Hagen. The elevation is over 4500 feet and you can only get there by flying, there are no roads due to the rugged mountains.

 While I am here at the Nazarene theological College near Brisbane I have met a lot of people and they have all treated me as family. One of the couples, Bob and Val, are temporally living on campus. He is a retired pastor and Val is a retired school principal. We live in the same building and eat together daily. They have been a great help to me both in friendship and spiritually. I will miss them when I get to PNG.

Bob & Val

It has finally stopped raining here and the rivers are all going down. Many people have been able to get back to their homes only to find out they have lost everything. There are still some towns that are not accessible by road due to the flooding. I have seen a great spirit in the people of Australia, who are volunteering by the thousands to help people recover, clean out their homes and remove all of the damaged goods. We need to continue to pray for the victims of the flood as it will take months or maybe years to recover. We just celebrated Australia Day here, it is kind of like the 4 th. of July in the US where everyone has a barbecue and play games only here it is cricket instead of baseball. 

 I visited Frasier Island this week. This is the largest sand island in the world. It has a sandy beach over 70 miles long and is used as a highway. It has several fresh water lakes and a large rain forest which is all protected now as a national treasure. It has trees that are several hundred years old and water so clear you can drink it.
 

Rain forest at Fraser Island

 

70 mile beach, speed limit 80 KPH

My next article should be from PNG, God willing. Please keep me in your prayers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 4:59 pm

    What is this about? There is no comment I can see and I cannot open the reference website. I am confused.

  2. Kevin Young permalink
    February 9, 2011 7:37 am

    Finally! congrats, we will be praying (and have been) God Bless!

Leave a Reply

