Skip to content

A Little History

November 3, 2009

Just a little history. I am 65 and single after my wife passed on to God’s house in June of 2009. Her and I discussed what out futures might bring if one of us passed away. One of my many pleasures was to serve the Lord through helping our church (Church of the Nazarene) and participating in Work and Witness trips.

Due to health issues my wife was not able to go to countries that did not have modern medical facilities, so we concentrated on trips in the US. We participated in teen trips such as “One Heart, Many Hands” in Indianapolis at the National Nazarene Conference, Disaster relief after Katrina and Nazarene camp trips with teens and Prime Timers.

Some members of our church and I had the opportunity to join in a trip to Honduras with a group of people from Ohio. We helped start a building project to expand the training facilities in Tegucigalpa and visited several churches in the countryside. What an awesome experience seeing all of the local people that seemed so happy even though they lived in poverty.

I now have a new mission in life, which is to serve God. As I have prayed for guidance several avenues seemed to open up. Although I do not have the skills to be a pastor or evangelist I do possess some construction, organization and administration skills.

After contacting the people who led our trip to Honduras I was invited to join them on a trip to Peru. (How exciding) So we leave in January of 2010 to go to Lima and then on to Iquitos in the Amazon River rain forest. Then it’s on a bus and then a boat up the Amazon River to the Tigre River where we will help in the construction of new churches.

While surfing the Nazarene web site I discovered the Mission Corps. This is the division of the Nazarene Church that coordinates missionaries and mission needs throughout the world. After contacting them and filling out some forms I was asked to attend a Cross-Cultural Orientation at Trevecca Nazarene University. After the training and some interviews I was told they would look for an opportunity that fit my skills.

I am excited and looking foreword to whatever God brings. I pray daily for guidance and direction on how I can best serve. I would hope that anyone reading this would pray that God would guide and direct me to fulfill his needs.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 7:58 pm

    I look forward to reading about your adventures!

  2. ktmtom permalink
    November 7, 2009 11:05 pm

    God Bless ya Lee, this is a FANTASTIC thing your doing, and wow, what an opportunity. Truly inspring . We look forward to seeing you when you get out west so you can tell us all about it upon your safe return. I assure you, you and your crew will be in our thoughts an prayers for a safe and successful mission. Can’t wait to read all about it!! Tommy~

  3. doceverett permalink
    November 9, 2009 2:24 pm

    I look forward to reading all about your experiences in Peru. The time I have spent in Cambodia really effected my whole perspective on life and on living. Following God’s plan for your life will lead you to the most unexpected places! I’m praying for your safety and for your experience with the Lord.

    I hope you have had an opportunity to read the little book on grieving that I gave to Randy. I think it will help you even as you prepare for your trip. Be sure and let me know what you think about it.

    Chuck aka doc

    • November 9, 2009 8:38 pm

      Thanks for the comments. I have read about half of the book so far. I will let you know when I finish it. I am looking foreword to going to Peru and I am hoping that will be the first of many adventures in doing Gods work.

  4. indianagardener permalink
    November 11, 2009 2:42 am

    I’ve really been enjoying your blog. It wonderful the ways that God is working through you! Keep serving the Lord. The rewards are out of this world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

